Instant Pot Gluten Free Sausage Gnocchi Soup

It’s September in Texas which means it’s really still too warm to eat this dish.  It’s so good though that I’ve made a variation of it twice in the last 8 days.  

Let’s get started. Turn your IP on by pressing sauté. 

Hit Adjust to crank the heat up to high.  Higher heat = browner sausage = more yum. 

I found this delicious GF sausage at Kroger. 
It only comes in links, so I split the casings open and empty the meat out of them. 

This is the longest part of the prep, and it still takes less than two minutes.  See … all done. 

Mostly drain 3 cans of Italian seasoned DICED tomatoes.  I accidentally bought stewed once instead of diced.  It was still edible but more challenging for me to eat.  I like my soup ingredients to mingle together on the spoon.  Don’t stress about getting all the liquid out. 

Here’s the spinach I used.  Thank you, Kroger, for doing all the work for me. No chopping for me. 

Here’s my favorite chicken stock.  I like the no sodium added version so that I can control the saltiness.  

Tomato paste in a tube is one of my favorite things.  No wasting a can when you only need a tablespoon for this recipe! 

When I first saw my friends posting their version of this soup with tortellini, I thought we’d never be able to make this because of celiac.  Someone suggested I try it with GF gnocchi.  Winner winner, NOT chicken dinner!

Last but not least, the cream cheese.  I like the full fat stuff for this.  The lower fat Neufchâtel will not melt as well into the soup. 

By the time you get your ingredients organized, your pot should be ready.  I added a drizzle of olive oil to the pot since the sausage looked a little lean, but this is optional.  Brown the sausage and break up the clumps as you go.  Try to let it get seared on one side before you go messing with it.  Your patience will be rewarded.

As it starts to brown, you can add in granulated garlic and fresh ground black pepper if you’re into that (which I am).  Time to go to Costco for more pepper!

See, look at the delicious bits of brown forming on the bottom.

Dump in your tomatoes and use the juice to scrape up the brown bits from the bottom.  

Add in tomato paste and stir in the spinach. 

Dump in your box of chicken stock and stir again. 

Drop your gnocchi on top of the soup but don’t stir!  Let them float near the top. 

Pinch the cream cheese into chunks and let them rest on top. 

Put the lid on your Instant Pot and turn it off. 

Now hit Manual to turn it to pressure mode. 

Hit the minus symbol to decrease the time to 2 minutes.  Yes, TWO MINUTES.  It will take longer than that to come to pressure, but it only needs to cook at pressure for two minutes. 

When it beeps, quick release.  Your soup will look like this.  

A quick stir will take it to this.  

Ladle up and serve!  

Instant Pot Gluten Free Sausage Gnocchi Soup

  • 1 pound GF sausage 
  • 1 package frozen chopped spinach
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 32 oz GF chicken stock
  • 1 box GF gnocchi 
  • 3 cans diced tomatoes (Italian seasoned if possible) — mostly drained
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • Salt and pepper
  • Granulated garlic (optional)
  1. Brown 1 pound GF sausage on sauté. Add in a sprinkle of granulated garlic (about 1/2 tsp) as sausage browns. 
  2. Dump in tomatoes and use residual juice to scrape up the browned bits off the bottom of the IP.  
  3. Mix in tomato paste and spinach followed by chicken stock.  Add in 1 tsp kosher salt and about 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper.  Add in gnocchi but don’t stir.  
  4. Drop chunks of cream cheese on top.
  5. Cook on high pressure for 2 minutes. Quick release.  Stir, adjust seasonings to taste, and serve!  Makes enough to feed 6-8 people. 
Leave a Reply

