Gluten Free Cookie Pie


I have a sweet tooth.  When kiddo was diagnosed, I cried and cried because I thought I’d have to give up delicious desserts.  

Nope.

Only make this if you love chocolate. If you’re anti-chocolate, I don’t understand you, and you need therapy.  

This is based off a recipe I found in the Six Sisters cookbook and modified to make GF.  I love the mini chocolate chips in recipes like this; it ensures chocolate in every single bite.  This cookie is delicious by itself with a glass of milk and is also perfect with a scoop (or two) of Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla. 

Start by turning on your oven to 325F.  I like using oven thermometers to ensure accurate cooking temps. 

Next, soften your butter.  If you’ve planned better than I did, you can leave it out on the counter for a few hours.  If you forgot like I did, soften it in the microwave (I did mine at 50% power for 40 seconds).


Cream your softened butter with brown sugar.  I store my brown sugar with a little terra cotta bear that helps keep it moist.  


Your butter and sugar mixture should go from this:

To this:


I took this as a sign that my last lonely egg needed to be made into a cookie pie. 


Add in the egg and vanilla.  I don’t really measure my vanilla anymore; I just eyeball it. 


Mix again until smooth.   The batter will almost look like ribbons when it drops off the beater. 


If you’re doing things the right way, you’ll sift together your GF flour with baking soda and kosher salt.  If you do what I did last night, you dump it in together and hope for the best. 


Let’s take a second and talk about the flour that changed my life: Namaste GF Flour blend.  It truly is a cup for cup replacement for AP flour.  It already has xanthan gum in it, so I have no additional steps or modifications to make, and it tastes NORMAL.  Costco used to carry it but stopped last year (BOO!!!!), so I have searched high and low and found it both at Sprouts and through Amazon.  I make nothing off promoting it, but it has made our GF life so much better.

Add your dry ingredients to the wet and mix until well blended. 


Add in an entire bag of mini chocolate chips.  Nibble on a few if you need a chocolate fix. 


Spray a 9 inch pie pan with non-stick spray and press your dough into it.   GF dough is often very sticky, so I will press it down into the pan with damp hands run under cold water. 

Bake for 30 minutes until brown and toothpick comes out clean.  Cool and cut into 8 pieces.  

Gluten Free Cookie Pie

 Ingredients:

  • 1 cup + 1 tbsp GF flour blend (I use Namaste GF flour blend)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 6 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 12 oz mini chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 325F.  Spray 9 inch pie pan with non-stick cooking spray. 
  2. Cream butter and brown sugar together for 2 minutes.  Add egg and vanilla and beat well. 
  3. Mix flour, baking soda, and salt together; mix into wet ingredients until well blended. 
  4. Mix in mini chocolate chips.  Spread mixture into prepared tin
  5. Bake for 30-35 minutes until toothpick comes out clean and cookie is brown on top.  Allow to cool before cutting.  Serves 8.
Leave a Reply

