On my mascara

I like to joke with people that my eyelashes are the only thing on me that’s not short.   

 
Seriously, check those things out!  I’m 5’2″ and a true petite, but my lashes are so long that they sometimes hit my sunglasses.  They’re one of my favorite things about me. 

Recently I had a new mascara suggested to me, so I gave it a shot and ended up loving it (L’Oreal Double Extend if you’re looking for a good tube mascara that doesn’t break the bank).  I was told that it wouldn’t smudge with daily activities (something hard to achieve with long lashes), and today put it to the test.  

My four year old needed a blood draw today.  He realized as we were walking into the exam room what was going on, and he lost it.  Screaming.  Crying.  Hiding under the exam table (a first for him).  Bellowing at the very top of his lungs.  We had to papoose him for the draw, and during the process, he proceeded to scream at every person in the room and beg them to let him go and not draw his blood.  

I cried.  Who wouldn’t cry if their child was pleading with them not to let someone poke him with a needle?  I tried to be brave, but I couldn’t help it.  I couldn’t even promise him this wouldn’t happen again soon.  All I could promise is that it was almost over, and then I could give comfort with a frozen Coke from Quik Trip and later a lunch from Chick Fil A.

Childbirth hurt.  Until this, I thought that was the worst pain I would ever experience.  But it’s not.  I would take all his blood draws if I could.  But I can’t.  

Until someone finds a cure for celiac, this is our life.  It is our cycle.  We cry, we wait, we pray, and we breathe.  But at least I will look good while we do it, and at least I will make delicious gluten free food to keep us filled along the way.

  

Leave a Reply

