It’s official

Biopsy results are back.  It’s official.  Little man has celiac disease, and we have been officially gluten free for the last thirteen days.  The first several days were the hardest, but it’s getting easier.  I created this blog primarily to chronicle our celiac journey and to record recipe hits and failures.  When we first got the call about his lab results, my entire world was turned upside down; I was scared of the unknown.  When we first went GF six days later, I was angry at how many things I was giving up (HANGRY, if you want to be technical).  When we went to my brother’s wedding out of town a few days after that, I was sad at how many things my son would miss both now and in the future (like pizza and beer); I even spent part of one dinner crying in the bathroom so nobody would see the hot mess I was at that moment.  Now almost two weeks into it, I am becoming slightly more comfortable with things.  I don’t mind asking waiters to take special care of our food, and I’m pulling out old favorites for dinners that were already gluten free (but I wasn’t paying attention at the time).  I’ve made GF bread twice, pancakes, and Brazilian cheese bread — all of which were decent!

 

I go back and forth between being sad that my son has celiac and being grateful that we have a diagnosis.  I am spending more and more time in the grateful camp; I hope that one day, I move there permanently.  When I find myself discouraged when I remember yet another favorite food we’ve given up (flour tortillas!  fried shrimp!  SOURDOUGH BREAD!), I remind myself of Paul’s words from 2 Corinthians 12:9 — “’My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

 

May God grant us grace as we walk the road He has chosen for us.  He was not surprised for a moment that our boy has celiac.  He will be there with us through every step of our journey.

Leave a Reply

